Zuwera Ibrahimah secures NDC ticket in Salaga South primaries

Hajia Zuwera Ibrahimah has gained the Nationwide Democratic Congress’ (NDC) parliamentary in the constituency.

Hajia Zuwera Ibrahimah garnered 472 votes to earn the election in the Savannah region.

She defeat Alhaji Ibrahim Abubakari Dey, a former two-term MP for Salaga, and Alhaji Ahmed Saaka Shaibu Dan, a second-time contestant who arrived next in the 2016 parliamentary primaries guiding Dey.

This is the very first time since 1992, a girl has won the Salaga South in the NDC parliamentary primaries.

Hajia Zuwera endeavor is to retake the Salaga South seat from the New Patriotic Party’s Salifu Braimah, the latest Savannah Regional minister, in the 2020 elections.

In her victory speech, Hajia Zuwera expressed self confidence that she will unseat her opponent occur 2020.

“The journey has not been easy, for the initial time a woman has won the primaries. It is a victory for crew Hajia Zuwera, a victory for Salaga south and the NDC. I know I am profitable the constituency seat again to the NDC in the typical elections by the grace of God”

Hajia Zuwera is a former Minister-Counsellor and Head of Information and Community Relations of the Ghana Superior Commission in London, she retains MA in Diplomacy and International Business enterprise from the University of East Anglia in the United kingdom.

Also in the Daboya-mankarigu constituenc, the incumbent Member of Parliament Law firm Mahama Shaibu Obey has damaged the jinx to be the to start with seating MP to run for the next time. He defeat two of his contenders, Baani Abudu Nelson a former MP and Timothy Dingana.

Other winners in the Savannah area involve the Incumbent MP for Damongo constituency, Adam Mutawakilu and other incumbents in the Salaga North constituency, Alhaji Alhassan Mumuni.


The aspirants in the remaining a few constituencies out the seven in the Savannah area went unopposed. Beneath is the full list.

Elected NDC candidates in the Savannah Region

Salaga South Constituency

1. Hajia Zuwera Braimah (472)

2. Alhaji Dan (116)

3. Alhaji Lukman Jawula (1)

4. Alhaji Ibrahim Dey (260)

Overall votes (870)
Turned down (1)

Salaga North Constituency

1. Hon. Alhassan Mumuni (308)

2. Mohammed Abdulai (50)

Whole votes (362)
Rejected (3)

Daboya/Mankarigu Constituency

1. Hon Mahama Shaibu (261)

2. Hon. Abudu Nelson (123)

3. Timothy Dangana (172)

Total votes (433)
Rejected (3)

Damongo Constituency

1. Hon. Adams Mutawakilu (403)

2. Yakubu Yussif Castro (102)

Whole votes (521)
Turned down (4)

Yapei/Kusawgu Constituency

1. Hon. John Abdulai Jinapor (Unopposed)

Sawla-Tuna-Kalba Constituency

1. Hon Andrews Chiwitey (Unopposed)

Bole-Bamboi Constituency

1. Hon Yusif Sulemana (Unopposed)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *