Messi wins Ballon d’Or for record sixth time

Barcelona ahead Lionel has won the d’Or award for the world’s finest player for a document time.

It is the 32-calendar year-outdated Argentine’s 1st Ballon d’Or since 2015 and will come soon after he scored 54 occasions for club and place in 2018-19, in which Barca gained La Liga.

Virgil van Dijk was second – just one of 4 Liverpool players in the top seven, which includes Sadio Mane in fourth.

Juventus and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo, who has gained the award 5 situations, was third in the voting.

England defender Lucy Bronze was crushed to the women’s award, finishing 2nd at the rear of Megan Rapinoe, who was Golden Ball winner as United states of america claimed a next successive World Cup in 2019.

Liverpool keeper Alisson received the inaugural Yashin Trophy for greatest goalkeeper, ahead of Barcelona’s Germany intercontinental Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Brazilian compatriot Ederson of Manchester Town.

Defender Matthijs de Ligt took the Kopa Trophy, awarded to the most effective underneath-21 participant and selected by former Ballon d’Or winners.

The 20-calendar year-previous, who joined Juventus this summertime after encouraging Ajax get to the semi-finals of last season’s Champions League, conquer Borussia Dortmund and England forward Jadon Sancho to the award.

The comprehensive list

1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool and Senegal)

5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt)

6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain and France)

7. Alisson (Liverpool and Brazil)

8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

9. Bernardo Silva (Manchester Town and Portugal)

10. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester Metropolis and Algeria)

11. Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona and Netherlands)

12. Raheem Sterling (Manchester Town and England)

13. Eden Hazard (Serious Madrid and Belgium)

14. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)

15. Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus and Netherlands)

16. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City and Argentina)

17. Roberto Firmino (Liverpool and Brazil)

18. Antoine Griezmann (Barcelona and France)

19. Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England)

20= Dusan Tadic (Ajax and Serbia)

20= Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal and Gabon)

22. Son Heung-min (Tottenham and South Korea)

23. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham and France)

24= Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli and Senegal)

24= Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona and Germany)

28= Donny van de Beek (Ajax and Netherlands)

28= Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid and Portugal)

28= Marquinhos (Paris St-Germain and Brazil)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *